Club Tijuana


The club is the second in a long line of Tijuana-based league clubs. Gallos Caliente was founded in the summer of 2006, but it disbanded the same year. The Guerreros de Tabasco were later purchased by Tijuana merchants and relocated to Tijuana, where it became Club Tijuana Xoloitzcuintles de Caliente. The team and its owner have announced the construction of the Estadio Caliente, a new stadium with a seating capacity of 33,333 adjacent Grupo Caliente’s Agua Caliente Racetrack. Jorge Alberto Hank, son of Jorge Hank Rhon, serves as the team’s president. They won the Apertura 2012 championship after defeating Toluca 4-2 in a two-game series.

On May 21, 2011, the squad promoted to the Primera División de México after defeating Irapuato 2-1 at home.[8]

Jorge Alberto Hank and the vice president, Gog Murguia Fernandez, became the youngest executives in Mexican professional football history to lead a team in the Primera División de México.

Club Tijuana

The First Title, Club Tijuana

The squad won their first championship in the Apertura 2010 competition after finishing as general leader in the regular tournament, allowing them to advance directly to the semi-finals. In the semi-finals, the Xolos took on Albinegros de Orizaba. Both semifinal legs between the Xolos and Albinegros ended in a 0-0 draw, as did the aggregate result. The Xolos’ place in the regular competition allowed them to go to the final against the Tiburones Rojos de Veracruz. In the first leg, the “Xolos” had a surprise win 0-2 in the Estadio Luis “Pirata” Fuente in Veracruz, while in home field, they won again 1-0, and so Tijuana got half a ticket to the Mexican football maximum circuit, the Primera División Mexicana.

Promotion to Liga MX

Tijuana and Irapuato faced off in the Liga de Ascenso Clausura 2011 final. The first leg was played on Wednesday, May 11 at Tijuana’s stadium. The game ended 1-1. The second leg was played at Irapuato, at the Estadio Sergio León Chavez. Irapuato won the game 1-0 and was thus proclaimed Clausura 2011 winner. With Tijuana having won Apertura 2010, the Promotion Final would once again pit Tijuana against Irapuato.The first leg ended in a 0-0 tie in Irapuato on Wednesday, May 18. The second leg determined which side would advance to the Primera División de la Federación Mexicana de Fútbol (now Liga MX).[11] The second leg, played in Tijuana’s Estadio Caliente, ended with Club Tijuana winning the Promotion Final 2-1. Thus, Tijuana became Mexico’s new Primera Division team, succeeding Necaxa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *